The Proverbs 31 Woman – 2

“An excellent wife, who can find?
For her worth is far above jewels.” Proverbs 31:10 NASB

Don’t you as women want to live up to just that one verse? I do. How often do I feel like “an excellent wife?” Not very. I find myself often grumpy, short-tempered, withdrawn, overwhelmed…well, this list could go on for a while.

So, what is a woman of excellence? Here are a few more scriptures to lead us to an answer:

“Now, my daughter, do not fear. I will do for you whatever you ask, for all my people in the city know that you are a woman of excellence.” Ruth 3:11

Are you known around town as a woman of excellence? Looking at myself, that has not always been the case. Personally, it’s because I’ve never given people the opportunity to get to know me. I’ve struggled with being judgmental, but was never taught any better. I’ve known many “gossips” and found it at times an easy wagon to jump on. So much growth has occurred (only through Christ), but so many temptations are still thrown in my face everyday.

What are some of your struggles? Put them out there and face them. You may surprise yourself what you can overcome just by acknowledging it.

“An excellent wife is the crown of her husband,
But she who shames him is like rottenness in his bones.” Proverbs 12:4

Oh, this is a tough one. How easy it to nag and demean our men? Especially around friends. Modern media has created monsters of all of us. Quick turn on your TV. For the next 5 minutes, count how many “stupid men” ads or programs you find. Our culture has spent so much energy making women look good and intelligent, that we have begun making our men look incompetent. As wives, we are to build our husband up. Support his decisions and authority in our homes. It may not always be easy, but that is the way God created it to be.

“House and wealth are an inheritance from fathers,
But a prudent wife is from the LORD.” Proverbs 19:14

Prudent – wise, sensible, frugal, economical, thrifty
I’ve read this verse many times, but never looked up the meaning of prudent. I, of course, knew it meant wise, but it’s more than that. As women, we are to be more than just wise. I love the synonyms I found! Frugal, economical, thrifty…
It’s so easy to want to spend money, but do you really need that new pair of shoes.

Being in school again, I’m learning a LOT about being frugal. It’s hard work, and definitely doesn’t come naturally, but worth if for my family! It’s rewarding now to find ways to save. It’s a game to find a great deal (on things that are needed). So much better that just the thrill of shopping.

Are we the blessings to our husbands that the Lord created us to be? Think about that for a while. I find that many times I am the opposite of a blessing.


“Coral and crystal are not to be mentioned;
And the acquisition of wisdom is above that of pearls.” Job 28:18

“For wisdom is better than jewels;
And all desirable things cannot compare with her.” Proverbs 8:11

I love the last part of this verse. Our worth truly is greater than jewels!

If you are anything like me, I never see myself worth much. God does! And our husbands do! My husband tells me all the time, that he truly wishes I could see myself the way he does. He asks me often not to speak negatively of my appearance. I wish it were that easy. I am striving to build a better self image. God created me. All of God’s creations are perfect and beautiful and good! Shouldn’t be that hard, right?

**Father, thank You for creating us to be excellent wives whose worth is greater than jewels! Help us to see the worth you’ve placed in us. And Lord, help us to truly be EXCELLENT wives to our wonderful husbands who You’ve blessed us with! Help us to seek our hearts and minds daily, and compare them with Your example of a virtuous wife. Then, help us to dig deep and change the parts that need to change!
Amen!**

Leave a Reply

