AKA Caffeine

I’ve noticed an interesting phenomenon over the past….well it’s been a while…and it concerns the a fore mentioned caffeine.
It gets good publicity and bad. So, which is it? And why in the world is it constantly being referred to by other names???

Did you know that it’s known as a “Pain Reliever Aid” in medications such as Excederin? I’ve known that for a long time. Before we “decaffeinated” ourselves while in college, I used to suffer from migraines. I never could figure out the cause until one day a professor asked me how much caffeine I consumed. Well I started to pay attention and noticed that migraines came on days were I’d had much more or significantly less caffeine. But supposedly, this minute amount of caffeine speeds the bodies reception of pain relieving medicines. I’m no doctor, so I don’t know.

Perhaps the funniest thing I’ve seen advertised lately, is the new Bayer AM. They market their 65 mg of caffeine content as an “alertness aid.” Excuse the 16 year old girl in me as I say…..”Well DUH!!” The first time I saw the commercial, I just burst out laughing at the ad.

My mind rolls around these thoughts as I drink my morning cup of coffee…which should probably contain less caffeine but doesn’t…
I can’t help but wonder, would it be easier just to drink a cup of java juice?

The Caffeine Database
Check out this link for the caffeine content of your favorite beverage.

-Just a thought

Leave a Reply

