The Ominous “Me Monster”

It is the most selfish creature ever seen, by far. You never know when it might rear it’s ugly head. It’s terribly dangerous and can kill relationships.

What is it you ask? The “Me Monster”

I firmly believe we all are possessed by it from time to time. If not, then kudos to you! Personally, she (in my case) shows up quite often. Frankly, I’m quite ready to be rid of her once and for all. Why, oh why, won’t she just take the hint and hit the road?

The seriousness of the “me monster,” in my opinion, is a result of one’s upbringing. Good or bad, if as a child the “me monster” isn’t contained, it will run rampant in adult hood. You’ve met them, I’m sure. The people who always have an “I’ve got one better” story. They have to top everything you do. Can turn any situation into something about them.

I get just sick to my stomach when I think about how many times that has been me. I never even realized it, until the Holy Spirit revealed it to me…very graciously. It was a hard pill to swallow, and still gets stuck in my throat at times.

How can we battle this monster? The same way you battle all of Satan’s other traps and schemes. Prayer and meditation of God’s Word.

Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Philippians 2:3

So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. 1 Corinthians 10:31

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Pray for me, and I will pray for you. Together, perhaps, and with much help from our loving Abba (Daddy) God, we can destroy the “me monster” within!

Just a thought!
-De

One thought on “The Ominous “Me Monster”

  1. Excellent post, De. It is something I deal with also. I was the baby of the family and I must say I was pampered not only by my parents but my siblings also.

Leave a Reply

