Teaching Trials

We are finishing up week 3 of second grade today. All in all, we are off to a MUCH better start than we did last year. Thus far, we have one frustration…handwriting. Maybe it’s just a boy thing, but my Jedi Knight despises all forms of handwriting. We use Abeka curriculum, and they start cursive in first grade. So, even though he’s had a year of cursive already, he’s not interested in it at all. This wouldn’t bother me, except that I can read his cursive writing, but when he writes print, it’s terrible!

So, there’s my conundrum. Should I drop cursive writing for a while and push proper manuscript? Or should I just rely on the fact that it will come in time? *sigh*

Leave a Reply

