Sick

Sick
by Shel Silverstein

“I cannot go to school today,”
Said little Peggy Ann McKay.
“I have the measles and the mumps,
A gash, a rash and purple bumps.
My mouth is wet, my throat is dry,
I’m going blind in my right eye.
My tonsils are as big as rocks,
I’ve counted sixteen chicken pox
And there’s one more–that’s seventeen,
And don’t you think my face looks green?
My leg is cut–my eyes are blue–
It might be instamatic flu.
I cough and sneeze and gasp and choke,
I’m sure that my left leg is broke–
My hip hurts when I move my chin,
My belly button’s caving in,
My back is wrenched, my ankle’s sprained,
My ‘pendix pains each time it rains.
My nose is cold, my toes are numb.
I have a sliver in my thumb.
My neck is stiff, my voice is weak,
I hardly whisper when I speak.
My tongue is filling up my mouth,
I think my hair is falling out.
My elbow’s bent, my spine ain’t straight,
My temperature is one-o-eight.
My brain is shrunk, I cannot hear,
There is a hole inside my ear.
I have a hangnail, and my heart is–what?
What’s that? What’s that you say?
You say today is. . .Saturday?
G’bye, I’m going out to play!”

I loved that poem when I was little.  I remember in elementary school, about every other time we visited the library, I would check out “Where the Sidewalk Ends.”  There are times now when I wish life was that simple.

This past week has been…well…a wreck at my house.  When we arrived home from our fabulous Disney vacation, Princess Aurora had brought with her a cough.  One week of a cough was enough for this mommy, so we went to see the campus nurse.  Turns out, she had an ear infection and some nice inflamed lungs.  Not yet bronchitis…whew!  Do you have any idea how stressful it is to have a sick, medicated three-year-old couped up in a barely 900 square foot apartment?

Let’s just say, we’ve seen our share of ugly this week.

Not only that, but the place is a disaster…oh my!  We took one day off after getting home, head-first into school/work life and still have yet to catch up.  I seriously think, someone is bring their dirty dishes to my house and putting them into my sink when I’m not looking.  It’s unending.  And I don’t even want to think about the laundry…we’re buried in it.

I was reminded in Spiritual Formation this morning about a hurdle God had already helped me over that I was letting sneak up on me again.  These are all things.  Who cares what my neighbor may think when he/she walks by my open door?  I shouldn’t.  As long as I am doing my part, serving my Lord, following His guidance and Word.  I may not be a perfect image of the wonderful Proverbs 31 woman, but with His help, I’m working on it.  He is my reason for waking each morning.  He gives me the strength to care for my family.  He gives me the love I need to look lovingly at my husband when I’ve been bombarded by snotty children all day long and really ONLY desire a shower and a pillow.  He alone gives me the comfort and willingness to cuddle a sick little one when I’ve had no sleep.  In Him alone…not me.

Just a thought.

-De

Leave a Reply

